Runs In the Background

My husband, Brent, is one of the most generous, most unassuming and least demanding guys I know. Like a system scan on the computer, he “can run in the background while you do other work.” And he does. If he sees that something needs doing around the house he just takes care of it. For instance, I often get sidetracked from cleaning up after dinner. I’ll become lost in working on my latest chapter or blog post, forgetting all about the mess. Half an hour later I “come to” and rush to the kitchen–only to find the dishes rinsed and loaded and the leftovers already in the fridge.

He doesn’t even do it to make me feel guilty, although it does. He’s simply that diligent!

I appreciate this trait a lot, especially when he doesn’t put away stuff that I just this minute got out to use. But that’s another blog post. The point is, he has my back and is always willing to step in if I overlook something.

But sometimes Brent is the very one who gets overlooked. That is ironic because, to me, he is the most important person in this family. In so many ways, I couldn’t get along without him.

The only reward Brent wishes for his pitching-in is to know that I’m thinking of him, that I value him. Of course I value him–I don’t mind telling you, he’s the greatest husband in the world! And yet I get to rushing around taking care of this errand or phone call, that bit of paperwork for my mom, an oil change for one car or another, the groceries, the laundry, and…

… and I let our anniversary or Valentine’s Day sneak up on me. Or Father’s Day. I ask for gift suggestions, put in time thinking about what kind of card he would like, browse the bookstore. But when the day arrives I wake up and realize that somehow in all my rushing, I never quite got around to actually buying that gift, or even a card.

So, Brent, it’s time for me to bring you out of the background! Let me say in front of the whole world that I love you more than words can express. You are an amazing person, husband and father. I can’t get over being grateful to the Lord for you, and never want to take our marriage for granted. Thanks for all the many ways you take care of me. You’re the best.

Happy Father’s Day.

Thanks for reading,
Jan
PS: This week I am bragging to sharing with Rachel Anne and the Company Girls.
Also with Jen and the Soli Deo Gloria girls. (<– Click over to find out "What Happens When You Leave the Boat.")
jj

About Jan C. Johnson

Welcome! If you like food, reading, laughing over life's little disasters, and maybe thinking about the bigger things of life, you have come to the right place. Besides blogging, I write humorous fiction, though real life tends to leave fictional humor in the shade. But I'm not a total goofball. No, really. I'm also working on a biography project. I live in North Texas with my husband, Brent. We enjoy bicycling, Mexican food, and traveling to visit our kids and grandkids.
This entry was posted in I Remember When... (my OWN stories) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Runs In the Background

  1. Anonymous says:

    Jan that is such a sweet message about Brent, and so true he was that way growing up. He is the best, but he is the best because of you being the best too. That is true love. I am happy for
    both of you, God is so good. Love Mom

    Like

  2. Jan, this is a PERFECT analogy. (I think you and I have the same model husband #445–The One that runs in the Background. What a treasure, eh?
    This was a great tribute.

    Like

  3. Kristin says:

    You’re husband and mine sound a lot a like. Aren’t we SO blessed to have them. AND I love that you wrote this tribute to him. We wives need to lift our man up and share how wonderful they are, to encourage them and love them in front of the world because they do so much for us behind the scenes.
    Thank you for coming by my ‘pond’. It’s so nice to meet you:)

    Like

    • Jan says:

      Kristen, your comment warms my heart. It’s good to know other women see their husbands as blessings. Thanks so much for the encouragement!

      Like

  4. Love this, Jan. Love you too.

    Like

  5. Tiffany DeOs says:

    What a sweet post and agreat reminder that we need to be telling our husband’s how much we appreciate them.

    Visiting from Company Girls.

    Tiffany
    http://thecraftyhome.net

    Like

  6. thenewbec says:

    Hooray for husbands!

    Like

  7. What a lovely message! I have one of the “runs in the background”, and it is a wonderful gift and blessing!

    Like

  8. AWW! This is just so very sweet and heartfelt. I just love it. I totally identify with getting sidetracked and forgetting little things like…cleaning up the kitchen. It must be torture for a neatnik like my husband. Oh dear. Brent is a wonderful man and you two complement each other beautifully.

    Like

    • Jan says:

      Yep, “neatnik.” Sounds like we found two of a kind! Thanks for stopping by. I agree; Brent is wonderful. Thanks for the sweet comment!

      Like

Your Turn: comments welcome here.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.