Wanna Get Away? –Yes, Please!

Don’t ask me why, but one of my most embarrassing moments recently popped into my head, more than 25 years after the fact. . .

It all started ages ago when Eric, our firstborn, was a toddler. We enjoyed sharing treats with him, like half of our cookie or bites of our ice cream. We had to be careful, though. Sit him in your lap and give him one spoonful of your ice cream, and you had to be pretty wily to get any more of it for yourself. He would maneuver his face to anticipate your movements and intercept every possible bite.

We developed this weird, awkward straight-arm method of eating ice cream, lifting the spoon waaaaay higher than his head before arching it back toward our own mouths.

One Sunday evening, we attended a party for choir kids and their families at our church. I was there because I helped in Kindergarten choir. Standing around with Eric on one hip and a cookie in my other hand, I chatted with a choir mom.

Eric pointed to my cookie. “Bite?”

What can I say, my guard was down. “Sure, honey, you can have a bite.”

I held the cookie in front of his cute little mouth… which kept widening and widening until it looked like an open garage door.

The omnivorous maw engulfed my cookie. I was left holding a piece the size of a dime.

Eric chewed happily. No kidding, he had taken a mega bite before there were megabytes.

I gave in to the snark side.

Just a bite, huh? This kid’s gonna be an IRS agent when he grows up,” I observed aloud.

The other mom blinked at me, absolutely bewildered. “My husband is an IRS agent, and he never does that…”

When my heart started beating again, I changed the subject, then went to look for a toothpick. See, I needed to remove a foot from my mouth…

Your turn: Surely I’m not the only one with an embarrassing moment… what’s yours? You can share in the “Leave a Reply” box below.

Thanks for reading,
Jan

This entry was posted in I Remember When... (my OWN stories) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wanna Get Away? –Yes, Please!

  1. Jeannine Johnson says:

    Jan, Love that story,
    When I was a young mother Brent always loved cookies, and when he was little he said I had the best hearing in the world, because when he opened the cookie jar lid, I could hear it a mile away
    and yelled get out of that cookie jar. He loved his cookies so much that in college he hid them under his bed so room mates wouldn’t get them. And he still loves cookies, but I let him get as many as he wants. Love Mom

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

